What Would Kelly Bailey Do?

Let me take a second to tell you about Kelly Bailey:  The 30-something bombshell is, by far, the best chef I’ve ever worked under.  She went to CIA and worked at the Trellis for a bazillion years and then made the (quite prudent) decision to go to the Fat Canary, which was the first restaurant to employ your’s truly.  She’s a marathon-running, animal-loving, totally inspiring FORCE in my life.  For a sad couple of years I actually didn’t have contact w/ Kelly (who, by the way, just got married this past weekend!!) due to my unfortunate mental breakdown and subsequent peace-out from the FC.  In short, my boyfriend/sous chef broke up with me, and I went a little crazy…heh.

And though I only knew Kelly for a couple of years, it is her guidance that has been the most salient in the past few years.  At the FC, I was a bit of a moron.  I was reactionary and emotional and just too much of a 23-yr-old girl to really get it.  Kelly was patient but stern with me whenever necessary.  Not only did she impart some of the most faithful recipes in my collection, Kelly also taught me to look at the whole picture before shooting off my gob.  I honestly believe that she made me not only a better cook but a better person.

Today was a trying day at Millie’s.  I was tempted on more than one occasion to shoot off the aforementioned gob, but thankfully, I centered my shit and bit my tongue.  I think Kelly would be very proud.  I looked at “the bullshit” in the context of the restaurant and really earnestly thought about what the most appropriate step would be.  I think I’m on my way to a resolution, and most importantly, I didn’t make a total fool of myself.  Score.

I believe that a restaurant is a hard place to work not because cooking is difficult but because cooking with other people is nearly impossible.  I’ve always been a bit of a soloist — an only child and never a team member growing up, dealing with people when I HAVE to do so can be quite a task.  But I’m working on it…at least until I’m self-employed 😉

So, please enjoy this picture of the Lobster Scallop Cannelonni with Smoked Tomato Butter and Snow Pea Salad (one of tonight’s new menu items!) while I do some much-needed decompressing with good-time pals Jon, Al, and Josh.

Toods!

One response to “What Would Kelly Bailey Do?

Leave a Reply

