Pantry Salad

On a slightly overcast day, when you’re touched by ennui and compelled to stay indoors at any cost, only a pantry salad will do.  The pantry salad is any salady concoction one can whip up without having to run to the store, so of course, it’s different for everyone.  My pantry salads almost always feature chick peas because my cabinets almost always contain chick peas.  I buy them compulsively.  I mean, you can never have too many chick peas, right?  Who’s with me?  …

This recipe was inspired by a little salad Ben and Jimmers ran for a couple of days during lunch.  It’s pretty much just three ingredients – chick peas, marinated artichokes, and marinated tomatoes.  I added parsley, salt, pepper, and olive oil, and…..salad!  So, in the great Mark Bittman tradition, I’m not even writing out a recipe.  You got this.

I could also totally enjoy this salad with the addition of capers, cheese, some thinly sliced shallots, balsamic vinegar, or maybe just a squirt of lemon juice, all of which I usually have on hand.  That makes this little winner my personal favorite Pantry Salad.

A note about the tomatoes:  I use Divina marinated tomatoes, which I purchase at Ellwood Thompson’s.  I’m not sure where else you can get them locally, but I know you can’t get them in Roanoke, so you might as well just move here.  I first discovered them at The Cheese Shop in Williamsburg, VA.  If you haven’t been to the Cheese Shop, do yourself a big old colonial favor, and fucking go there right now.  They really are the best sandwiches ever.  (Cicely Wolters, can I get a hell yeah?)  I recommend tuna salad on foccacia with sprouts and marinated tomatoes.  I’ve probably eaten it more than any other sandwich, due to the fact that I got them for free for about a year….  If memory serves, Cicely was ‘turkey on baguette with house and havarti.’  It could’ve been smoked turkey.

And as a note of correction on my last post (I could just go back and edit it, but meh,)  I was 20 and 21 at the FC, not 23.  By 23, I was dating a bar owner and working at the self-proclaimed “French Laundry of Charlotte.” haha, THEY said it, not me.

toods

Leave a Reply

