Game Hens and Grilled Veg

Thanks to a very sweet, generous donation from the Biomom, I was motivated to host a modest back-yard get-together featuring everyone’s favorite tiny bird, the game hen.  Also featured is a cornucopia of vegetables, pretty much all of the veggies in my kitchen at the time. (warning: no actual ‘cornucopia’ appears.  I’m saving mine for Thanksgiving.)  But the real special guest is my first pepper of the season, which was marinated, grilled, and split three ways among Jon, Mitch, and myself.  Regard:

I prepared my game hens exactly the same as my procedure for roast chicken:  slathered in butter, salt and pepper inside and out, with a divina marinated tomato shoved between the skin and each breast, with a half a lemon and some thyme in the cavity.  For the roastin, I start at 425 for 15 minutes, and then I baste the birds, lower the oven to 350, and cook for approximately 40 more minutes, basting maybe one more time.  I let the birds rest in the oven, turned off and door open.

I marinated the asparagus, squash, onion, mushrooms and wee pepper in olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic, parsley, and mint.  We enjoyed the spread with a 2007 Cotes du Rhone.  We all agreed it was quite lovely.

2 responses to “Game Hens and Grilled Veg

Leave a Reply

