Yogurt-marinated Pork Chops and Wilted Arugula

Yesterday was a perfect day for outdoor dining and a bottle of Albarino.  I entertained a new friend on the porch of New Smitty’s until sundown (whereupon we commenced to playing Simon’s Quest on NES.)  To sustain us during our 7-hour porch-dwelling, I made some yogurt-marinated pork chops (which is, kind of, all I want to eat lately) and a little wilted arugula with chick peas and tomatoes.  We enjoyed the meal with a 2007 Martin Codax Albarino that was quite pleasant indeed.

For the pork chops, I mixed about 1 cup of fage (greek yogurt) with a couple tsp of piment d’esplette and paprika and a clove of garlic, crushed.  I let the chops marinate in the mixture for about 2 hours, and then I seared them on each side and finished them briefly in the oven.

For the arugula, I sauteed garlic and tomatoes in olive oil and then added chick peas.  I added a few handfuls of arugula and threw in a splash of albarino and two hearty squeezes of lemon – finished with some salt and pepper and another squirt of olive oil for good measure.  Everything was ready in about ten minutes, ensuring that I could resume my social call with barely an interruption..easy breezy

Evan said of the vittles, “I’m slowing down, not because I’m full, but because I don’t want it to stop,” so I consider my efforts to be successful.

Nothing like a new friend and outdoor dining to really make you love a day off!!

Leave a Reply

