Huevos Nuevos

There’s something about Latin American-inspired breakfast that just thrills me.  Combine cilantro, garlic, peppers, beans, and eggs, and I am suddenly wide awake.  Forget the coffee.  No, wait, keep the coffee, but still – I’m interested.  Richmond is the Brunch Capital of VA (I made it up/dare you to prove me wrong) and maybe the world, and as such has several notable Huevos Rancheros options.

Kuba, Kuba is a personal favorite.  “Two eggs over red beanseasoned avocados and Cuban bread, topped with Monterey Jack cheese, enchilado sauce, and lime sour cream;” it’s delicious on its own, but turn it into the California Huevos, and Ta Daaa, you get some avocado.  Worth it.  This and a double Cuban coffee can erase a preceeding night of sin deliciously.  My particular favorite part of Kuba, Kuba’s Huevos are the large goya capers tucked away in the red beans, swelling with briny excitement.  When a few capers find their way into a bite of oozy yolk and soft Cuban bread, magic actually happens….para mi.

My former stomping grounds, Millie’s, boasts my other favorite local offering of Huevos Rancheros.  Millie’s incarnation consists of  “2 fried eggs over tortillas with black beans, tomato ranchero sauce, melted white cheddar, salsa and sour cream.”  It’s a standard and it’s consistently good.  In fact, the only reason that I wouldn’t order it is because I would be ordering Huevos Benitos, a similar dish but with the MASSIVE UPGRADE of Wilfredo-made Chorizo Pupusas.  I just made my stomach do a flip.

Bubean and corn saladt my absolute favorite is Huevos (Del Smitty’s) Nuevos.  The night before this dish was born, my dearest darling had fixed up a black bean and corn salad with scallops.  We agreed that while both components were quite tasty, the salad : scallop ratio was a bit off.  Thus, leftover bean salad got to live a double life as the spicy proteininous (made it up) addition to my house huevos.  Requisite avocados were tossed in a mix of lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper, and ground cumin before snuggling up with fried eggs and melted white cheddar.  I was just about to add a handful of capers when I thought of the sleeping boo in the next room — Not a caper fan.  Skipped them.  And then everything just came together — grilled tortillas, fried eggs, bean and corn salad, warm salsa, cilantro, avocado, and melted white cheddar.  Oh yeah, and some crispy, smokey bacon.

mise en place

Huevos (Del Smitty's) Nuevos

Huevos Nuevos

Ingredients

4 eggs
4 corn tortillas (I rubbed mine with a little roasted garlic that was also left over from the night before..)
6 or so strips of bacon
1 avocado
small handful of cilantro, chopped
1/2 cup salsa — make your own or buy it.  My salsa of choice is Green Mt. Gringo, medium, original.

Bean Salad

1 12 oz. can black beans
1 12 oz. can red beans
1 sm. red onion, diced
juice of 1 lime
2 T. olive oil
1 sm. handful of cilantro

Directions

– Combine all ingredients.  Disperse at will, over breakfasts and mixed greens aplenty.

nom nom nom,

onioncloute

2 responses to “Huevos Nuevos

  1. Even though I am not a fan of cilantro – this still sounds soooo appealing! I think it would help me wake up…I’m going to try it!

Leave a Reply

