Grandma Mimi’s Butter Pecan Cookies

When it comes to the final course of a meal, I’m typically a cheese girl, or, in the best of scenarios, an extra-side-of-potatoes girl. However, occasionally (especially late at night) I do like to indulge in something sweet. These buttery, sugary cookies are absolutely delightful.

butter pecan cookies

I use Tess’s Grandma Mimi’s recipe, as I did when I catered Tess’s wedding this past November. The cookies were a big hit, and they kept the bridesmaids from chewing their own arms off when they got back to the hotel post-festivities and found a big box of cookies waiting for them.  No one likes armless bridesmaids.

And as far as cookie recipes go, this is pretty foolproof. I’d go so far as to say that these little butterballs are almost as easy to make as they are to eat…especially if you’re not terribly adept at eating.

Grandma Mimi’s Butter Pecan Cookies

Ingredients

½ c. unsalted butter
2 tbls sugar
1 c. flour
1 c. chopped pecans
1 tsp. vanilla extract
Powdered sugar for dusting

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add remaining ingredients and mix until incorporated.

Roll into balls approximately 2 inches in diameter and place on a parchment-lined, greased sheet tray roughly 2 inches apart.

Bake for approximately 15 minutes. Remove from sheet tray and roll in powdered sugar while cookies are still warm. Return to sheet tray and let cool on a baker’s rack. When cookies are cooled completely, roll in powdered sugar again.

russian tea cookies

To celebrate my blog’s facelift, if you comment regarding the new look between now and Monday 2/7/11, you are automatically entered to win a WHOLE BOX of these lovely cookies!  So, let me know what you think!

Pecan on FoodistaPecan

13 responses to “Grandma Mimi’s Butter Pecan Cookies

  1. It looks great! Though I confess I’ve never been here before today .. I just found you via my buddy Marinara.

    • Thanks Mollee – If you win, I’ll make something special for you! (Which means I’ll find a recipe on yr blog and do that…)

  2. I wish I had some of these right now! I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this pecan widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about recipes with pecans,Thanks!

Leave a Reply

