Savory Oatmeal

savory oatmeal with poached egg & bacon

If you’re looking for ways to make your diet healthier and more practical, you’ll quickly be advised that oatmeal is the answer.  Oatmeal.  It lowers cholesterol, boosts the immune system, and stabilizes blood sugar.  It fights cancer for christ’s sake.  It’s soo soo good for you.

And maybe that’s why oatmeal and I are destined to be staring at each other blankly from opposite sides of the bowl, forever at an impasse.   Despite all the fantastic health benefits, I’m just not interested in starting my day with a steaming bowl of cinnamon mush.  None of the regular oatmeal flavors work for me.  Prepackaged options like Brown Sugar & Raisin or Peaches & Cream make me gag just imagining gumming down saccharine globs of breakfast.

Enter savory oatmeal.  Savory Oatmeal.  It lowers cholesterol, boosts the immune system, stabilizes blood sugar, and doesn’t taste like a boat drink.  Perfect!

Or so I thought…

I tried two varieties of the stuff, both loaded with ingredients that I love..in other things.  As it turns out, the thing about savory oatmeal is that it still tastes like oatmeal and not, as I had been lead to believe, like some risotto-esque ‘revelation.’  Savory oatmeal is a great option for people who like oatmeal, but after thorough R&D, I can fully attest that I am not one of those people.

savory oatmeal with sundried tomatoes, arugula, & goat cheese

Savory Oatmeal Variations:

Poached Egg, Crispy Bacon, White Cheddar, Chives
Arugula, Prosciutto, Sun-dried Tomato, Goat Cheese

Another option I had intended to try was the “Fig & Pig,” based on Pizza Tonight’s pizza of the same name – fig preserves, prosciutto, and spiked with gorgonzola crumbles.  I’ll probably give it a try next year when I go through another I’m-Healthy-Because-I-Eat-Oatmeal phase, but I’m not entertaining much hope this time.

Leave a Reply

