Chicken Salad with Grain Mustard & Red Peppers

chicken salad w/ grain mustard and red peppers

One of my favorite things about Richmond is Aziza’s On Main, a sunny, friendly lunch spot with a killer deli case.  (They have dinner too, an excellent seasonal menu; I just go more often for lunch.)  Aziza’s has been a staple of mine since moving to Richmond.  I love their tabouli and hummus and their legendary cream puffs, which are legendary because they’re absolutely spot-on from pastry to pastry cream to ganache, but I digress.  Aziza’s is actually the first place I ever tried kibbeh, and I’ve been hooked on the stuff ever since.

One of the must-order dishes in their deli case is the Lebanese chicken salad, which I occasionally order two helpings of at once because it’s that remarkable.  When I was still at Millie’s, a very gracious Boo Boo Darlin’ would occasionally bring me little nibbles from Aziza’s, making my day much more enjoyable.  Since I find myself with a lot less time to lunch and a lot more time at home, I’ve started making my own version of the Aziza’s staple – a zingy, crispy chicken salad, sans mayo (picnic perfect!)

Chicken Salad w/ Grain Mustard and Red Peppers

Chicken Salad with Grain Mustard & Red Peppers

Ingredients

1 Whole Chicken, roasted, cooled, picked, and diced
1/3 c. Maille (or similar quality) Grain Mustard
1/4 c. Red Wine Vinegar
1/2 c. Celery, diced
1 small Onion, diced
2 large Red Bell Pepper, roasted, cleaned, and diced (about 1/4 c.)
a small handful Parsley, chopped
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

Combine ingredients, and season to taste. Allow to sit for a couple of hours (if you can control yourself in the face of such deliciousness.) Serve with crusty bread and a good attitude.

High five!

One response to “Chicken Salad with Grain Mustard & Red Peppers

Leave a Reply

