Teething Biscuits

wholesome teething biscuits

Lily is a veritable bone factory. I swear I can actually feel her growing sometimes. And as further proof of my suspicions, two sharp little ivory teeth have begun poking out of her bottom gum.

Teething has been better than I had imagined, at least. I assumed it would involve sleepless nights walking around the house with an irate baby on my shoulder. Instead, so far we’ve experienced a slight fever, some obvious discomfort, and a few interrupted nights of sleep. Fingers crossed that molars will be similarly mild.

One thing is obvious, though: She wants to bite on stuff. Toys, my hands, her hands, water bottles – basically whatever’s in her sightline is fair game. A peeled carrot was recommended as a soothing teether, but she was less than thrilled with the flavor and quickly dismissed the veggie to my stock pot.

A few of the other new moms I hang around with had some teething biscuits – little crackers that basically dissolve upon gumming. Teething biscuits! That’s something I can MAKE FOR HER!! I was ecstatic at the prospect of making my first batch of something other than breast milk for my baby girl, so I looked at some recipes.

Suddenly every ingredient seemed unacceptable – eggs, no; granulated sugar, I think not; wheat flour, not on my watch. I wanted to make something wholesome, natural, and simple for Lily’s first snack, and here’s what I came up with.

Lily’s Teething Biscuits

Ingredients

2 c. Barley Flour
2 c. Oats, ground in a food processor
2 Bananas, very ripe, mashed
1/4 Water
2 T. Canola or Vegetable Oil
plus barley flour, g/f flour, or wheat flour (if you’re not afraid of it) for rolling

Directions

Preheat oven to 350. In a mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients. Mix banana, oil, and water, and incorporate into dry ingredients until a soft dough forms. Using a rolling pin and whatever extra flour you choose, roll out the dough to about 1/4 inch thick. Cut into shapes. I chose a simple rectangle with crinkly edges, but am planning to make “teether dudes” next time with a cute gingerbread man cutter.

Bake 12 to 15 minutes and allow to cool before giving to baby and supervising like only a mom can…

The icing on this cake of wholesomeness was using Mimi’s Whole Grain Barley Flour, so not only are the ingredients “mother-approved,” they’re also at least partially sourced locally!

Lily's Teething Biscuit

*These don’t quite dissolve like the store-bought biscuits, so I took it from her before there were any choking-hazard-size chunks. As with any time you give your baby something to gnaw on, keep a watchful eye.

8 responses to “Teething Biscuits

  1. Stephanie, this looks perfect. I’m going to mark it and direct people here – With my Baby Grains, I get asked all the time about teething biscuits. And I like the fact that you went rogue and used ingredients that worked for your family’s eating style.

Leave a Reply

