Lemon Verbena Shortbread Cookies

Lemon Verbena Shortbread Cookies

If a plant is inside my house, it’s days are numbered. I come on strong: “I love this new plant. I’m going to remember to water it and turn it and dust it and stuff.” A month later, the plant is dead, untouched, sitting there like an accusatory jerk.

Outdoors, though, I do much better. Maybe I’m only interested in plants I can eat. That’s certainly a good theory. I’ve managed to keep a certain lemon verbena plant, Lennie (named after Lennie Briscoe,) happy for 5 years now, mostly living outside with a few stops at my mom’s house during some harsh winter months. I have so much of the stuff I end up putting it in everything – roast chicken, tabouleh, ice cubes, and various cocktails, but in all my time with this plant, I hadn’t baked it into a cookie.

Consider that situation rectified. This shortbread cookie recipe, adapted from Martha herself, is foolproof and easily adaptable. Put stuff in it; dip it in stuff. Go nuts, it’s a solid recipe. I made a big batch and baked off half of the dough, reserving the other half, tightly double-wrapped in plastico, until my next cookie craving.

Lemon Verbena Shortbread Cookies

Ingredients

1 cup Butter
3/4 cup Confectioner’s Sugar
1 teaspoon Vanilla
2 cups All-Purpose Flour
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1 tablespoon Lemon Verbena, finely chopped

Directions

Sift Flour and salt together, and set aside. Cream butter and sugar in a standing mixer with the paddle attachment. Add vanilla. Gradually sift in flour and salt. Add lemon verbena, and mix to combine.

Refrigerate dough for 2 to 24 hours.

When you’re ready to bake off your cookies, take the dough out of the fridge, and leave on the counter for about 15 minutes. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Line a half sheet tray with parchment paper.

Roll out dough to about an 1/8 of an inch thick, and cut out however you want. I used a biscuit cutter for most of my cookies, but also made a few “Shortbread Dudes” because they’re very charming.

Place cookies about an inch apart on the parchment paper, and bake for approximately 15 minutes. Allow to cool before serving. Or don’t.

Lemon Verbena Shortbread Dudes

3 responses to “Lemon Verbena Shortbread Cookies

Leave a Reply

