Orzo Salad with Artichokes and Parmesan

orzo salad with artichokes and parmesan

I’m easy when it comes to pasta salad. It doesn’t take much to convince me to take advantage of the fact that people are calling something a “salad,” even though we can all see it’s just a bowl of empty carbs. I’m there. Ya got me.

This is one of my favorites, so much so that it has made two notable appearances in the last year – One on the menu of prepared foods lovingly made by Pizza Tonight for Little House Green Grocery (sans tomatoes) and the other for Miss Lily Byrd’s first birthday party.

It was at said party where Dickie, beard-cultivator, cabinet-maker, and all-around cool Step-Dude, fell in love with the stuff, and he’s been asking me for a recipe ever since. And since Dickie’s always bringing me homemade chili and loads of yummy ingredients, I was obliged to comply.

Orzo Salad with Artichokes and Parmesan

Orzo Salad with Artichokes and Parmesan

Ingredients

1/2 lb. Orzo, Cooked according to package directions
1/2 cup Parmesan, Grated
1 (14 oz) Can Artichoke Hearts, Chopped (I use Cento or the ones from the olive bar. Because I’m fancy!)
1/2 cup Parsley, Chopped
Juice of 1 Lemon
2-3 Tablespoons (GOOD) Olive Oil
salt and pepper, to taste
1 cup Cherry Tomatoes, halved (optional!)

Directions

Combine ingredients! Taste! Season! Taste again!

If you haven’t nailed down a Super Bowl recipe yet (4 hours to go,) consider this my suggestion. People will be thankful to have a “salad” around, even if they all know it’s just pasta.

Leave a Reply

