2013 Market Haul Review

May 4
May 4

First market of the season!  My addiction to Pickled Silly started at the winter market and spilled right on into the first day of the main season, on which I also score a “Phantom From Space” cupcake from Atomic Bakery, much to my delight.

May 11
May 11

Reginald’s Homemade Peanut Butter enters my life, vows never to leave.  Also tatsoi from Broadfork, and I spy breakfast radishes juuust out of the frame on the right.

May 18
May 18

Love affair with baby squash begins here and lasts ALL SUMMER LONG.  I could eat them every day.  This was a day I worked with Pizza Tonight, so lots of trading, including trades for bratwurst, pickled okra, cupcakes, and strawberries.

May 25

May 25

Ground lamb, fresh mint, and royalty raspberry jam from Agriberry, plus salmon and pickled breakfast radishes!

June 1
June 1

Pepperjack Guava Empandas from Hispania Bakery COME BACK TO MEEEE.  Also, I spy garlic scapes.

June 8
June 8

One of my favorite hauls from a rainy Saturday – Oatmeal Cream Pies from Poor Georgie’s Bakery for Mr. Ganz, fennel garlic scapes, and baby squash, from Tomten, TAMALES, Vidalia Onion Bread from Norwood Cottage.

June 15
June 15

Bizarre Market popped up at the SOTJ this week, and thus my collection of tiny flower earbobs grew.  Also, padrons!

June 22
June 22

Lemon cucumber from my buds at Origins! And look at that kale!

June 29
June 29

Sungolds and Blueberries mean it’s almost July!!!  SUMMER!  BASEBALL!  TOMATOES!!!

July 6
July 6

Hitting summer stride with most of the usual suspects.

July 13
July 13

A trading Saturday in which I score corn, tomatoes, potatoes, salmon, leeks, eggplant, peaches, MORE EARRINGS, and a Capital of the Confectionary t-shirt for Lily from Real Richmond Tours.

July 20
July 20

The season of eggplant is fully upon us.  It is a near daily sight.  Also, ALL THE BASIL.

July 27
July 27

Long beans, eggs, cupcakes, tomatoes and squash for days, more and more eggplant, arugula, garlic, tamales, and a wee ham.

August 3
August 3

Tomatillos!  Tarragon!  And a cute little succulent that I’ve already killed…

August 10
August 10

This was another favorite, featuring an RVA shirt for LBG and a healthy haul of tomatoes and cupcakes.  Also, peep the smoked tomatoes from Cabbage Hill Farm.  Genius!

August 17
August 17

The nectarines end up in an awesome crumble, and I think this is the week that Bill Foster changes my life with his Asian BBQ sausage.  Thank you, Bill.  Dulce de leche cookies for Mr. Ganz.  Sullivan’s Pond Tidewater Goat Cheese for a hostess gift!

August 31
August 31

This is a Mr. Ganz market haul shot exclusive!  The coolest part of this haul is the Perilla, aka Sesame Leaves, from Broadfork Farm in the top left corner.  Janet told me that when an elderly Korean customer saw them,  she was moved to tears.  She hand wrote the name in Korean on each bag!  I used mine to make little Korean BBQ rice wrappy things, and they were amazing, fennely, similar to shiso but then…different!

September 7
September 7

Milk from Old Church Creamery is a rare but welcome treat, and they are a secret debit hot spot if you’re running low on cash…

September 21
September 21

FIGS FIGS FIGS FIGS FIGS FIGS FIGS FIGS FIGS FIGS FIGS FIGS FIGS FIGS FIGS September 28

September 28
Last of the radishes, enjoyed with dill and butter.
October 5
October 5

With fresh Ginger from Casselmonte Farm and a “Pumpkin Tree” from Amelia Soap & Herb Co, this haul was pretty special.  Also honey and a honeycomb candle from a brand new vendor, Just Bee Kind.  Aaaand Smoked Tomato Goat Cheese from Cabbage Hill Farm.  That’s cilantro in the bag and ground lamb on the right.  I ran out of money before I got to Barham’s this week!

October 12
October 12

Lily was a constant companion for each market visit, and quite possibly the best thing that happened during this project was that Lily started “helping” me with my market shot.  It was pretty fun going through each piece of the haul with her, talking about who we bought it from and who we saw at the market.  GUH look at all those greens!

October 26
October 26

These chinese eggplant were SO GOOD.  I mastered a spicy eggplant preparation that had eluded me all summer.  I see two packs of Asian BBQ sausage, a feeble attempt to make it last past the weekend.

November 2
November 2

We gave Barham’s hot crab muffins a try and loaded up on berries, broccoli, and brussel sprouts, plus sweet potatoes from Crumptown and Golden Delicious Apple Butter from Bella Grove.  Oh and a persimmon from some guy with a box of persimmons whom I never saw again.

November 23
November 23

This was my first time getting Cavana pasta, and it was a big win with Mr. Ganz, who insisted on getting those two little chocolate bars for me before eventually eating them himself.  Last week for fresh ginger!

November 30
November 30

I loved this market and its resulting haul, full of herbs, lettuce, gifts, romanesco, the tastiest spinach ever, and the last tamales of the season.  Hasta luego, mi amor!

December 7

December 7

The last haul of the season was totally different from any before it – bok choy (Brian from Tomten peer pressured me,) baby dikon, carrots, red kale from Walnut Hill, delicious oyster mushrooms from Eli’s greens, and A DUCK from my Tomten buddies.  That duck turned into two meals – crispy duck breasts with balsamic sauce and duck confit spring rolls.  Plus a darling cactus/succulent terrarium for my Dad that he accidentally left at my house, so oh well, a darling cactus/succulent terrarium for ME.

Leave a Reply

