New Years Oyster Stew

oyster stew

My memories with oysters don’t start until I’m 17 years old, but my relationship with them feels much deeper than that, as though I were weaned on the slimey sea boogers. From happy hour at Can Can to a day on the water at Merroir, my experiences with oysters are almost always downright convivial.

In fact, my first raw oyster was on one of the most convivial days of my life, during a clandestine vacay with my English-professor-turned-boyfriend in New Orleans, and it was accompanied by hot sauce, vodka, and, later, debauchery. (As it should be.) I suppose with an introduction like that, it’s reasonable that oysters always make me wistful and slightly giddy. And what better day to be giddy and wistful than on the FIRST day of the new year!

Oyster Stew

Ingredients

2 tablespoons butter
1 yellow onion, 1″ diced
2 lbs. yellow potatoes, peeled and 1″ diced
2 cups chicken stock
1 cup milk
1 cup heavy cream
salt and pepper, to taste
~ 2 tablespoons parsley, chopped
1 qt. shucked oysters, plus their precious liquor (I got mine from Barham’s Seafood at the South of the James Market!)

Directions

  • Heat butter in a heavy-bottomed pot on medium heat, and sauté onions until transluscent.
  • Add potatoes and enough stock and oyster liquor to cover them, plus about an inch. You may need a bit more or less of the stock, depending on the size of your pot.
  • Bring to a simmer, and cook for about 45 minutes, until the potatoes are cooked through. Add the milk, cream, salt and pepper.  Taste, and adjust for seasoning if necessary.
  • Add the oysters, and cook for another 5-10 minutes, until the oysters are just cooked. Use care to not overcook them, please. Taste for seasoning again.
  • Garnish with parsley, and let the memory-building begin.

This recipe is quite simplified from the Oyster Stew I made 3 years ago because life, my friends, has changed.

One response to “New Years Oyster Stew

  1. Ya know I am a huge oyster fan — raw, steamed, and fried. Oyster stew for some reason I just cannot swallow. One of those weird food palate combination things. Your stew looks very good aside from my issues!

Leave a Reply

